State Laws for ID Theft Define Their Own Penalties

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Punishment for Identity Theft and other Identity Theft topics.

How do state identity theft laws affect penalties?

State Laws for ID Theft Define Their Own Penalties

Identity theft and fraud is a federal crime and violations are investigated by federal law enforcement agencies. Federal identity theft statutes are used to determine punishment for ID theft crimes. However, individual state laws differ in classification and associated punishment for identity theft cases.

For example, in Georgia, the punishment for financial identity theft is “imprisonment for not less than one nor more than 10 years or a fine not to exceed $100,00, or both for first offense. Punishable by imprisonment for not less than three nor more than 15 years, a fine not to exceed $250,000, or both for subsequent offenses.”

In Arkansas, financial identity fraud is considered a Class C felony, which means that it is punishable by imprisonment for 10 or more years, but less than 25 years. These two states have drastically different sentencing guidelines.

To find out what classification applies to convictions for identity theft crimes in your state, contact your state Attorney General or local consumer protection agency.

   

Comments

Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.



Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Identity Theft Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Candi Wingate